I might not need the AV Name Check anymore

Yes, you read that right.

But it entirely depends.

On September 28 the Australian Disability Royal Commission handed in it’s final report to the Australian government, and the next day it was made public. And should a specific recommendation made by the Commission be accepted and acted upon by the government a portion of the anti vaccine community is doomed.

The portion that believes that a number of disabilities and conditions are caused by vaccines when in fact they are genetic in origin. This of course includes Autism.

The recommendation is that an amendment be made to the Australian Disability Discrimination Act in Division 3 (Discrimination involving harassment) and the proposal reads as follows;

(1) It is unlawful for a person (the first person) to do an act, otherwise than in private, if:
(a) the act is reasonably likely, in all the circumstances, to offend, insult, humiliate or intimidate another person or a group of people; and
(b) the act is done because of the disability of the other person or because some or all of the people in the group have or are perceived by the first person to have a disability.
(2) For the purposes of subsection (1), an act is taken not to be done in private if it:
(a) causes words, sounds, images or writing to be communicated to the public; or
(b) is done in a public place; or
(c) is done in the sight or hearing of people who are in a public place.
(3) In this section:
public place includes any place to which the public have access as of right or by invitation, whether express or implied and whether or not a charge is made for admission to the place.

First of all, any website that is publicly available to anyone and everyone is a public place. So that means that any website that publishes anything that offends, insults, humiliates or intimidates another person or group – and it is said because of a disability, that would be an offence. And any false claim to the causation of said disability would be offensive or insulting at the very least. So that would prohibit false claims of vaccine injury.

I can safely say that I will be acting immediately against any Australian website who makes the claim that vaccines cause Autism and retains that claim consequent to this proposal being assented to. And I do have my first target in mind, but I’m keeping that under my hat for now. I can do that because I consider the claim to be offensive and insulting AND being that I am Autistic I would be entitled to take that accusation as being done against me. It would be indirect of course, but it is still valid.

The same applies to individuals on social media. I can see myself getting on to Facebook over a notification of this, and this can lead to some of the more obvious anti vaxxers who have made this claim having their accounts suspended and pages being taken down. I doubt it would happen but it could also affect Google (Blogger/You Tube) where I can blast certain other blogs off the server as well. Mind you, it may have to go the extra mile into vilification but there is a proposal from the Royal Commission for that as well.

This of course has to wait. The government is not due to respond until March 2024. But this is a valid heads up for the anti vaxxers. You are on notice! And that includes you, Liz Hempel. You think that the AV Name Check is a badge of honor. It’s not. It’s a name and shame list. You think you’re a hero. In the eyes of the majority, you are a villain. It doesn’t matter what suburb of Townsville you live in. They know, thanks to me, that you are a person without honour. You can get together with your fellow idiots all you want. They have no honour either. You all deserve each other. The only community service I have provided is to isolate you from the majority, whether it be Townsville or the whole of Australia. And the new laws will set that in stone as your fearmongering will be stopped by the strong arm of civil law.

THAT is a community service to be proud of. I just hope that it comes to pass. I will be pushing for it believe me. (Note – this last reflection comes from a comment that I threw in the trash once I typed the above).

Comment